Benjamin Schmitt
Benjamin Schmitt  Identity Verified
Costa Rica
Local time: 02:52
Member (2014)
English to German
+ ...
Jul 13, 2018

I've been working as a freelance EN-DE translator for almost 6 years and enjoy my work very much -- for the most part.

The one thing that keeps causing me unnecessary headaches though, is the fact that I can't seem to find agencies with good payment terms. I have early payment agreements with a few of my clients (5% discount if payment is issued within 10 days from invoice receipt), but the vast majority of my high-volume, regular clients pay 30+ days from receipt (or even from EOM
... See more
I've been working as a freelance EN-DE translator for almost 6 years and enjoy my work very much -- for the most part.

The one thing that keeps causing me unnecessary headaches though, is the fact that I can't seem to find agencies with good payment terms. I have early payment agreements with a few of my clients (5% discount if payment is issued within 10 days from invoice receipt), but the vast majority of my high-volume, regular clients pay 30+ days from receipt (or even from EOM).

I'm simply tired of constantly having liquidity issues even though I'm frequently working 70 - 90-hour weeks. Can any of you guys recommend quality agencies with payment terms/willingness to make special arrangements for payment within 1 - 14 days from delivery?

Thanks so much in advance!
Collapse

Gabriella Vento
Nikki Scott-Despaigne

Gabriella Vento
Gabriella Vento  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:52
Member (2015)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Totally agreed Jul 13, 2018

Dear Benjamin,
You only beat me with 15 minutes, I posted after you about this same subject, without reading your post.
I cannot agree more. Giving a discount for early payment looks, like a good idea, I never thought of it.

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:52
German to English
Terms are extending, not shortening Jul 13, 2018