Thread poster: Natalia Eklund
Natalia Eklund
Natalia Eklund  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 02:56
French to English
+ ...
Nov 10, 2004

Ok, probably a newbie question, but I'm a newbie. Just did a brief informal interpreting job for a legal auditor who understood basic French but wanted to be assured that he understood correctly. He was aware that I am starting out in interpreting, so we had a blast together since he accepted any basic hesitations.

Here's my question, besides sitting on them, what can you do to stop gesturing with your hands a lot when interpreting. I find that I do this mostly when I am searching f
... See more
Ok, probably a newbie question, but I'm a newbie. Just did a brief informal interpreting job for a legal auditor who understood basic French but wanted to be assured that he understood correctly. He was aware that I am starting out in interpreting, so we had a blast together since he accepted any basic hesitations.

Here's my question, besides sitting on them, what can you do to stop gesturing with your hands a lot when interpreting. I find that I do this mostly when I am searching for words, so I know that it will get better as I get more experience. But in the meantime, are there any tricks I can use?

By the way, I gesticulate when I'm in an animated conversation in my native language, so I know that I can only try to minimize my movements.
I joked with the auditor saying that if I didn't know the word I would express it through interpretive dance. He liked the idea and suggested this kind of profession would takes off quite well in stuffy boardroom meetings.

Thanks for any suggestions. And here's hoping for more cool clients like him.
Collapse

Kurt Porter
Kurt Porter  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:56
Russian to English
+ ...
Speaking with hands - tips Nov 11, 2004

You know, if you do it when going into French, it's ok!

Ok, couldn't resist.