Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5 6] >
I charge $0.01/w, I have 3 years of experience, how much should I be charging?
Thread poster: Ammar Naif
Ammar Naif
Ammar Naif
United Arab Emirates
Local time: 11:50
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jan 12

When I first started working as a freelance translator for En-Ar back in 2021, I did a translation test by a LSP then they told me they would be willing to pay $0.01/w, which to me sounded great back then, and I've been charging the same amount for the past 3 years, I was scared to increase the rate and lose my current customers, so to me $0.01/w was better than $0, but it's becoming increasingly difficult to survive on this rate, and I've been struggling financially lately and struggling to fin... See more
When I first started working as a freelance translator for En-Ar back in 2021, I did a translation test by a LSP then they told me they would be willing to pay $0.01/w, which to me sounded great back then, and I've been charging the same amount for the past 3 years, I was scared to increase the rate and lose my current customers, so to me $0.01/w was better than $0, but it's becoming increasingly difficult to survive on this rate, and I've been struggling financially lately and struggling to find clients in general.

I recently increased it to $0.02/w, but I'm not getting any clients, so I'm considering lowering it back to $0.01/w

I feel like I'm undercharging for my services, but I could be wrong, so I want to ask for your opinion; I want to increase my rate, but I don't want to increase it too much that I can't find any clients at all, so I want your suggestion as to what I should charge based on my experience: